1. Doha bound IndiGo flight diverted to Pakistan's Karachi due to a medical emergency onboard. 2. 'Naatu Naatu' from RRR wins the Oscar for the Best Original Song. 3. India's 'The Elephant Whisperers' wins Oscar award for the Best Documentary Short

Here’s a list of states which have imposed night curfew amid rising Omicron cases


Nagpur: Amid rising Omicron cases across the countries, several states including Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh have imposed night curfew ahead of Christmas and new year celebrations.

India till date has recorded 415 cases of the Omicron variant, of which 115 have been recovered as per the union health ministry. Maharashtra has the highest number of Omicron infections with 108, followed by Delhi with 79 cases.

States and cities which have implemented restrictions amid surge in Omicron cases

  1. Maharashtra: The Maharashtra government on Friday imposed night curfew from 9 pm to 6 am. Gathering of more than 5 persons in public is prohibited during curfew hours. Restaurants, spas, hotels, cinema halls allowed to operate with 50% capacity. Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) has banned all new year gatherings in outdoor as well as indoor spaces in the Mumbai city.
  2. Uttar Pradesh: The Uttar Pradesh government has imposed a night curfew starting from December 25 from 11 pm to 5 am. The cap on the number of people attending events like marriages has been limited to 200.
  3. Haryana: The state too, has imposed a night curfew from 11 pm to 5 am amid rising Omicron cases. Gatherings of more than 200 people in public places have been prohibited.
  4. Odisha: The Naveen Patnaik-led Odisha government imposed additional restrictions in the state for Christmas and new year celebrations. Christmas celebrations in churches will be limited to 50 people. New year celebrations are banned in hotels, clubs and restaurants.
  5. Madhya Pradesh: The Madhya Pradesh government has imposed night curfew from 11 pm to 5 am until further orders.
  6. Gujarat: Eight cities in Gujarat—Ahmedabad, Vadodara, Surat, Rajkot, Bhavnagar, Jamnagar, Gandhinagar and Junagadh will undergo night curfew from 11 pm to 5 am.



All Posts

Related Post

3rd wave will be over: SC on delay in framing guidel...

September 3rd, 2021 | THE FREE MEDIA

The Supreme Court on Friday expressed discontent at the delay by Centre in simplifying the process for issuance of death c...

Mulayam Singh Yadav former UP CM is no more

October 10th, 2022 | Dhanshree Badhe

Mulayam Singh Yadav, a veteran politician who saw Uttar Pradesh go through many ups and downs during his five-decade-long ...

Indian stocks decline after 4-day gains; Rupee near ...

October 20th, 2022 | Dhanshree Badhe

Indian stock indices, after having extended gains for the fourth straight session till the previous session, fell marginal...